Emergen-C For Vegans (Complete Guide)

Emergen-C For Vegans

Emergen-C Vitamin supplements come in a variety of forms such as powders, gummies, and shots. The majority of these products are then flavoured to make them taste more appealing.

However, some Emergen-C products are not vegan. That’s because these product lines include Vitamin-D (from sheep’s wool) or honey.

Given that the answer isn’t clear I’ve broken down the Emergen-C range of products further into a list of vegan and non-vegan options.

However, as the ingredients are modified frequently I recommend always checking the ingredients list on the back of the packaging prior to purchasing / consuming.

Emergen-C Ingredients

The non-vegan ingredients inside of Emergen-C are;

Honey powder – Honey is not vegan as it’s impossible to obtain honey from bees without exploiting them in some form.

Vitamin D – Emergen-C products include Vitamin D in the form of D3. This can be derived from an animal source (such as sheep’s wool) or lichen (a vegan-friendly source) therefore it’s always worth double-checking the label.

The vegan-friendly ingredients in Emergen-C are;

Fructose – This is a plant-derived form of sugar.

Maltodextrin – This is another type of sugar.

Citric Acid – This ingredient is found naturally in citrus fruits like oranges.

Malic Acid – This ingredient is found naturally in fruits.

Natural Flavors – In accordance with the FDA natural flavours are defined as an essential oil, oleoresin, essence or extractive, protein hydrolysate, distillate, or any product of roasting, heating or enzymolysis, which contains the flavoring constituents derived from a spice, fruit or fruit juice, vegetable or vegetable juice, edible yeast, herb, bark, bud, root, leaf or similar plant material, meat, seafood, poultry, eggs, dairy products, or fermentation products thereof, whose significant function in food is flavoring rather than nutritional. As such there is a small chance that the natural flavours inside of Emergen-C may not be vegan friendly.

Vegan Emergen-C Products

Below is a list of Emergen-C products that are suitable for vegans;

  • Emergen-C 
  • Emergen-C Kidz 
  • Emergen-C Botanicals
  • Emergen-C Probiotics+
  • Emergen-C Energy+
  • Emergen-C Electro Mix 
  • Emergen-C Hydration+ 
  • Everyday Immune Support (excluding the “Pink Lemonade” flavor)

Surprisingly even the Emergen-C Gummies are vegan as they do not include gelatin (or gluten).

Emergen-C 1000mg Vitamin C Powder for Daily Immune Support Caffeine Free Vitamin C Supplements with Zinc and Manganese, B Vitamins and Electrolytes, Super Orange Flavor - 60 Count/2 Month Supply

Please note that if they introduce a new product or flavor, make sure to check all the ingredients in the labeling. Furthermore, always check the label and read more about the individual ingredients before consuming.

Non-Vegan Emergen-C Products & Vegan alternatives

Below is a list of the non-vegan Emeregen-C products as well as some vegan alternatives you could try;

Everyday Immune Support Pink Lemonade Flavor – Not suitable for vegans as it includes honey powder. If you’re looking for a vegan alternative to this product, consider trying the Emergen-C Lemon-Lime.

Immune+ Immune Support Formula comes with Vitamin D3 (Citrus & Blueberry-Acai) – Try the Emergen-C (Immune support *750mg Vitamin-C) Gummies as a vegan alternative.

Multi-Vitamins – For a vegan alternative try, Emergen-C Protein Fuel & Superfoods.

Emergen-Zzzz – Sadly, this product is also not suitable for vegans as it includes vitamin D. I recommend Emergen-C Liquid I.V. Sleep Multiplier as a vegan alternative.